Behind the Barre

 

As a dance graduate looking for casual work, Aleenta Barre was the perfect fit for myself as a movement artist and fitness junkie. After a few months of loving teaching classes for this new company based right in the heart of Rundle St, I recommended many fellow dancers to also seek work with Aleenta. I approached the company directors about sponsoring a Fringe event in the studio for 2016 an worked with them to produce “Behind the Barre “, a showcase of Aleenta Barre’s talented instructors (or barre tenders they are called) as performers.

The performances at the Aleenta Barre Rundle St studio transformed the studio into an intimate theatrical venue in February 2016.

During the season, I created a solo from several physical explorations which had not made the cut in the development of a major work called The Closet Activist. Aptly titled “The Closet Activist – the solo”, this Solo took an unexpected twist when the lights for the dance stopped working. Apologetically, I broke the third wall and admitted that I had not charged the batteries for the special lighting effects but rather had charged my phone instead. Sarah and Carly Adler reported “feeling sorry for me” until they realised that I had brought a bike in which an audience member could instantly pedal power the lights and sound live,whilst I finished the solo. The dance continued but not without revealing that I take environmental activism very seriously as an artist and had been developing low carbon emission in my performance pieces and as a result was attempting to not breathe out so much. One reviewer in the audience said they would give me a green star review and thus I demonstrated that the movement choices were influenced heavily by their energy efficiency and subsequently, eliminating highly cardio Irish dance steps.

No video was recorded of this solo but I hope to continue it’s potential and hopefully one day receive a 5 start review. A 5 green star review that is!

The beautiful sponsors where Aleenta Barre. Check out what they do at aleentabarre.com

 

Read more about the show online here

DSC_0124

